Young Samuel

It’s amazing how the negative things in life affect us. A situation that breaks us down, can also be the source of where we find some unexpected strength we thought we didn’t have. Sometimes these situations are what make me a better person. They make me stop and think how I can make the world a better place and how I can try take that negative situation and get some sort of good out of it.

One can never explain the reasons behind the loss of somebody we know. In November 2009, a friend of mine from back home in Malta passed away in a tragic accident. He was only 16 years old. I remember him full of life, always hyper, very loving and caring and mainly he wanted to influence the people he was around with his positive energy. That same week I found out about his death I told myself.. “I need to write a song about Sam. About his life! That it may be an inspiration to others”… and that’s when I started writing “Young Samuel”. This song has been a work in progress and I can finally say that after 5 months of going back and forth on it it’s actually finished.

In loving memory of Samuel Attard Montalto.

“YOUNG SAMUEL”  lyrics
A young soul.. a zealous heart caught in the midst of time. Where has he gone? I search but I can’t find the answers to this. I’m overwhelmed by thoughts on why this happened. I’m blank… so blank… //Young Samuel close your eyes and rest. Forever is a beauty key they say, and watch over the ones that miss you dearly with each passing day. Till the time comes again sleep well// There is another place to go. Just take my hand and follow, just take my hand and you will see the beauty of this world.. the beauty of your face. Faith will overcome this fear that you hate.. you will see.//Young Samuel close your eyes and rest. Forever is a beauty key they say, and watch over the ones that miss you dearly with each passing day. Till the time comes again sleep well// Your life was full of light for everyone to see. You had a heart of gold, full of humility, but now you’re gone and this is your song. //Young Samuel close your eyes and rest. Forever is a beauty key they say, and watch over the ones that miss you dearly with each passing day. Till the time comes again sleep well//

I grew up with Samuel. I remember him when he was just a toddler, but of course I hung out with his sisters more. I was in disbelief when I heard about his tragic death. It usually hits you hard when it’s someone you know. I’ll always remember him as that mischievous boy always planning something remotely evil to annoy his sisters and got away with murder =) But he had a heart of gold and was such an affectionate boy who gave hugs out like candy.  I hope his family will enjoy the song. And as Leah said be an inspiration to others.
One Response

  1. Leah – they are really touching words. Thank you.

    Graz – Thats a spot on explanation of what he was like…hehe

    Love you both x

Leave a Reply

